Olympianismos
Welcome to Olympianismos!

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Olympianismos
Welcome to Olympianismos!
Olympianismos
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Intro & some general questions

4 posters

Go down

Intro & some general questions Empty Intro & some general questions

Post  makaros Thu Apr 25, 2013 7:24 pm

Hi everyone,

I've been reading over this forum for the past couple of days, looking into the links, mulling over which book(s) to buy, etc. My background is generalized eclectic paganism though I have been more of a reader than practitioner in the past..I recall two or three times I've done ritual. Ever since I left Christianity as a teenager I've been searching and fairly recently came across reconstructionist polytheism. My first encounter with it was Asatru, which didn't suit my tastes. I felt as though I needed something with a strong intellectual foundation, strong historical basis, and a belief system that was structured but not too much. I'd considered Greco-Roman polytheism in the past but 1) I thought it too obvious (silly, I know) and 2) I still had a hard time accepting hard polytheism mostly due to my past with Christianity, which I recently overcame. In an attempt to answer my own questions, I went to a Wiccan forum and after researching reconstructionist polytheism for quite a while, I knew immediately that I'd evolved from that. It's just not for me. I'm currently working on my master's in ancient and classical history after getting a BA in History two years ago. To put it mildly, historical accuracy and scholarship matter to me. But so does mysticism.