Olympianismos
Welcome to Olympianismos!

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Olympianismos
Welcome to Olympianismos!
Olympianismos
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Advice on Libations

2 posters

Go down

Advice on Libations Empty Advice on Libations

Post  Aoede Wed Jul 17, 2013 9:24 pm

Hi there,

I am very new to Olympianism and I was wondering if I could get some tips on how to do libations? Like what to use and how to do it.
Any advice would be very very welcome Smile

Thank you very much!

Aoede

Back to top Go down

Advice on Libations Empty Re: Advice on Libations

Post  Erodius Wed Jul 17, 2013 10:35 pm

Aoede wrote:Hi there,

I am very new to Olympianism and I was wondering if I could get some tips on how to do libations? Like what to use and how to do it.
Any advice would be very very welcome Smile

Thank you very much!

First, I would highly recommend reading the 'Sticky' topics posted at the top of this forum page, especially the second one 'On Domestic Piety', which is a short essay that I wrote a while back addressing the very basics of core religious practice (the fourth paragraph of which discusses the core basics of libation sacrifice. The first is a link to the Prolegomena, an introductory text outlining the contextual development of Greek Olympianism in Antiquity.

———

Regarding the other aspects of your question, the mechanics of offering libation are not complex. Libation follows immolative or material sacrifice (including incense), which itself follows the hymnody. Libation is, thus, the last of the three offerings. However, in worship, it has always been common to offer only hymnody and libation — not all sacrifices are elaborate immolations on an altar.