Olympianismos
Welcome to Olympianismos!

Hello all!

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Hello all!

Post  Nescio on Fri Nov 08, 2013 3:14 pm

Hi,

As my username suggests, I don't know much about Olympianism (from what I can gather this is the name assigned to this religion?) but I do know that I am at least passionate about Hellenic culture. I was hoping I could get to know the Gods better through this forum. Any suggestions on how I can learn more? Any specific texts I should be reading? What should I read and what shouldn't I? I am overwhelmed by the amount of knowledge some of you especially seem to have. Simply amazed: never thought there was so much to this religion (the name of which I'm still not certain of Embarassed )

I'm afraid I can't read Ancient Greek texts in their original language (I don't know classical Greek but look forward to learning it) but I am studying Latin so... but if you could suggest any good and proper translations for Greek texts, it would be much appreciated.

I'm familiar with a good number of Greek Myths though I'm not sure if they apply and stuff...

Have so many question, I don't know where to start.

But basically, thanks for existing and I look forward to getting to know you all. Very Happy

Nescio

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Hello all!

Post  Erodius on Fri Nov 08, 2013 3:43 pm

'Olympianism' is just a term historically used to refer to the Olympiac religions of the Classical Graeco-Roman world. It would encompass any of the various religions of Greece and the Hellenized world, i.e. Rome, Anatolia, Etruria, Magna Graecia et al. Many of the forms of Olympian religion, in particular certain Mystery cults, could certainly be rightfully considered religions in their own right.