Olympianismos
Welcome to Olympianismos!

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Olympianismos
Welcome to Olympianismos!
Olympianismos
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Dionysus' Dark-side?

5 posters

Go down

Dionysus' Dark-side? Empty Dionysus' Dark-side?

Post  Molderish Thu Jul 25, 2013 4:15 pm

Hello, I'm new to this wonderful religion.. and a god who has caught my attention, it's no other but Dionysus, he represents exactly how I feel like a primeval human trying to fit in "oppressive society" sometimes with unfair rules.. anyway.
While i was searching information about the Greek gods in general I watched that video who really shocked me , because it was said about my Greek god.

It says that this Greek god actually had a Dark side that "he could lure his cult members into bliss warm murderous deeds No ", his worshipers could slays animals  and ripped small children into pieces so they could drink their blood and eat their flesh.

How much of this is true??  what would be the historic references whose support this..

thank you.

Molderish

Back to top Go down

Dionysus' Dark-side? Empty Re: Dionysus' Dark-side?

Post  A. Paterculus Thu Jul 25, 2013 4:51 pm

I don't know of any historical record of cannibalism in the cult of Dionysus, but it was definitely one of the myths surrounding him that he could and did inspire such acts, most famously in the case of Pentheus (see the Bacchae of Eurípides for the details of this myth).
There was also the cult of Bacchus at Rome in the second century B.C., which was accused of all sorts of other crimes (as descibed by Livy in Ab Urbe Condita).

A. Paterculus

Back to top Go down

Post  Erodius Thu Jul 25, 2013 5:22 pm