Olympianismos
Welcome to Olympianismos!

Greeks believed in theirmyths?

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Greeks believed in theirmyths?

Post  goldenboy2421 on Wed May 29, 2013 4:55 pm

Hey there i just have a question. So im fairy familiar with the Greek "myths" but I am new to starting to actually practice Hellenismos and im wondering as a new practitioner, do we believe in the myths? eg Minotaurs, Cyclops, Perseus ect.. Did the ancients really believe in them or were they just myths to them?

goldenboy2421

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Greeks believed in theirmyths?

Post  Erodius on Wed May 29, 2013 5:20 pm

As with any other civilization in world history, some more 'rustic', credulous, individuals with less education would have believed in the traditional myths literally (just as some individuals today take the fantastical episodes of the Old Testament literally), the more educated, worldly and cosmopolitan would have seen them as metaphorical and/or allegorical, while others would have disregarded them completely.

But I can assure you, there has never been such a thing as a literal half-man half-bull creature on Crete, nor have there ever been huge, one-eyed, humanoid giants on the Mediterranean islands. Some of mythology is sacred allegory, but other parts are simply fairytales — all cultures and civilizations have them, and the Greeks were no exception.

"O Best of Gods, blest daimon crown'd with fire . . . hear, and from punishment my soul absolve, the punishment incurr'd by pristine guilt, thro' Lethe's darkness and terrene desire: and if for long-extended years I'm doom'd in these drear realms Heav'n's exile to remain, O grant me soon the necessary means to gain that good which solitude confers on souls emerging from the bitter waves of fraudful Hyle's black, impetuous flood!"
-Iulianic Hymn to Apollon-Helios, ll. 65-106

"Having come for punishment, one must be punished. One must not pull apart the god within oneself."